06292017Headline:

Winston-Salem, North Carolina

HomeNorth CarolinaWinston-Salem

Email Michael Lewis Michael Lewis on LinkedIn Michael Lewis on Twitter Michael Lewis on Facebook
Michael Lewis
Michael Lewis
Contributor •

Message to Teens: Driving Carelessly Could Cost You Your License

Comments Off

Careless and reckless driving is very common among the most inexperienced drivers on the road: teenagers.

Teens so ready to get on the road and take on the task of driving without thinking about the consequences of speeding, and other traffic offenses. However, a new license revocation law in North Carolina has been put into place to reprimand teens even further for disobeying traffic laws.

Senate Bill 636 states, 16- and 17-year-old drivers who receive their license after October 1st could possibly have their licenses revoked for 30 days, with no special privileges, and must also appear in court for any misdemeanor driving offenses. This is just one of the latest lessons the state of NC is trying to teach teenagers in their efforts to get students to think twice about driving safely.

One of the main offenses would be speeding, which is when a driver is going faster than 55 mph while going at least 15 mph over the speed limit. In the past, teenagers were sometimes let off of the hook if it was their first offense, but this time there are no freebies. Now, if an officer determines that the driver is lingering on the streets before 5 a.m. and after 9 p.m., this action could result in a citation. This means that if they work until 9:30, they are to driver directly home with no stops in between.

Officers must also make exceptions for teens driving to or from volunteer work with fire departments. The license revocation is law, but it is not yet being enforced. A clarification that’s sitting on the governor’s desk would actually push enforcement of the law back until January. Since there is confusion, the State Highway Patrol is not enforcing it at this time.

Check this out >> Teenage Driving – Get the Facts!